Read What Others Are Saying -

  • Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews)
  •  

Quantity: 

Where Lives G-d?
Where Lives G-d?

$US4.50
$US9.00

Raisa Obukhovsky - read all reviews by this author

Date Added: Monday 24 September, 2012

5 of 5 Stars!

This ia wonderful book for young readers.  It is captivating and fun to read. Read More »
 

Quantity: 

Plants of the Torah
Plants of the Torah

$US11.00
$US22.00

Fred Gerber - read all reviews by this author

Date Added: Thursday 01 July, 2010

5 of 5 Stars!

The plants presented in the Torah, which was present throughout all of human kind. Used in food, medicine, and rituals. The cultivation of plants helped man survive and flourish throughout history. To this day, these plants are utilized; due to modern advances in biology, the uses of these plants have widened. From a botanical point of view, as a specialist, I would like to assure readers that this book contains all aspects of these plants, their species, uses, and how they affect the body. These affects can be positive to the human body, for example when one is sick, certain plants, when used correctly, can be used as herbs, and heal the body's discomfort. They can also have detrimental effects: For example, one may overdose on these herbs, and it can lead to injury. This book will guide you through utilizing these plants for your benfit.The publication of the book " The Plants of the Torah" in both Russian and English, will widen the variety of readers. We as Christians count the Torah as the "Greatest covenant". This is why this book will be interesting for Christians as well. We can all consider it as a work of art. Active Botanist, and Education Director Emeritus of the Queens Botanical Gardens of New York- Fred Gerber Read More »
 

Quantity: 

Plants of the Torah
Plants of the Torah

$US11.00
$US22.00

Rabbi Abraham Tabibov - read all reviews by this author

Date Added: Thursday 01 July, 2010

5 of 5 Stars!

The importance of the Torah for Jews and all humanity is hard toovervalue. "See into, and see into again, because it's all inside",said our sages (Avot 5:26). Included in the Torah are all related to the human life and the existence of the world. It's contemporary for young adults (men and women), and due to the science, it opens new faces. It's the first time in our society the appearance of a book which connects religion with modern science. It opens the dialogue between the old and contemporary usage of the plants of medicine. There are a lot of qualitative illustrations. This book is not big involume, but it is high in quality. Certainly the Torah doesn't writeabout all old used plants, but the plants noted are not all known and the main aim is to introduce the method of their usage. These plants are ritual, nutritious , technical; spice-aromatics accompanied the men thousands of years and didn't lose this function. The famous Ram-Bam wrote that all plants are useful and is a big mistake to say that some plants are needless. I think that the work of the doctor of biological sciences Yuzef Murdakhayev "The Plants of the Torah" is actual And useful, And the qualitative transition into English makes the book disposable to the English speaking people as to the Russian speaking people making a wider circle of readers. I want to wish to the author: G-d's grace and good health and well being so that he could continue to work for our folk. .. Read More »
 

Quantity: 

Plants of the Torah
Plants of the Torah

$US11.00
$US22.00

Rabbi Yitzhak Yeoshuv - read all reviews by this author

Date Added: Thursday 01 July, 2010

5 of 5 Stars!

Torah is the book of books, acknowledged by the entire world from which we learn the laws of Nature and Existence. From Ancient times, it brings to us the Jewish history, the periods of their glory and of their decline. We find there the laws of hygiene, medicine and knowledge about mineralogy, plants and animals as well as their use, for more than 3300 years the Torah is the everyday book of the Jews. Books about the Torah are written often and there are many scholarly works. But on each stage of the societal development, we understand more deeply its context and meaning. The book "Plants of the Torah" is a very timely work. It will help the immigrants, synagogue-comers to understand deeper the life of our ancestors, to find out about the old plants and how to use them in contemporary events. In conclusion, I'll mention a story from the Torah. A getaway young man suffered hunger and thirst during a trip in a desert. Suddenly he saw a tree and when he came to the tree he found a spring. He drank and laid down. Then he saw fruits on the tree and he ate them and fell asleep. After awaking he said to the tree: "I thank you for the shade, water and fruits. You have everything. I would like to bless your prosperity so they will always have shade, water and fruits, AMEN. As a sign of appreciation for your work, I extend to you the same blessings. Chief Rabbi of USA and Canada Yitzhak Yeoshuv Read More »
 

Quantity: 

Jew Against Jew
Jew Against Jew

$US7.20
$US14.40

MICHAEL NEUMANN - read all reviews by this author

Date Added: Thursday 24 June, 2010

5 of 5 Stars!

Review: A Threat from Within Jewish Opposition to Zionism By MICHAEL NEUMANN Professor Yakov Rabkin offers us an unusual book. It is not history, because it does not present a narrative of Jewish opposition to Zionism, nor a systematic analysis of its causes and development. It is not polemic--though Rabkin's sympathies are clear, he presents the arguments of others far more than his own. It has too much anecdote and too many vignettes to count as philosophy; it is too philosophical to count as politics or sociology. Jewish Opposition to Zionism not only defies categorization; it also belies its title--at least for most of us. There have been other books, collections of essays, on Jewish opposition to Zionism. They contain essays by such 'modern', secular Jews as Norman Finkelstein, Uri Avnery, Norton Mezvinsky, Israel Shahak, perhaps early works by Martin Buber or Alfred Lilienthal. Often as not they argue the cause of the Palestinians.. Read More »
 

Quantity: 

Judaism
Judaism

$US15.30
$US30.60

Salo Wittmayer Baron - read all reviews by this author

Date Added: Sunday 30 May, 2010

5 of 5 Stars!

The Russian translation of the late Professor Isidore Epstein's JUDAISM will fill a major lacuna in the existing Russian scholarly and educational literature about the historic evolution of the Jewishfaith.For the last seven decades Soviet Jewry has been deprived of any significant new contributions in this field. At first, the Russian regime, still rather sympathetic to its Jewish minority, tolerated, occasionally even promoted, research relating to modern Jewish history and contemporary affairs. But these were principally concerned with socioeconomic developments in accordance with the regnant materialistic conception of history. Even the few biblical studies published at that time stressed these secular, rather than religious aspects, since all religions were to be discouraged as "opiates" forthe masses.In the last forty years, however, even these limited studies, along with all other aspects of Jewish culture, were increasingly repressed. For more than a generation the voice of the Jewish people in the Soviet Union was completely muted; it found fewer and fewer outlets for its intellectual curiosity concerning its own heritage. Schools, theatres, the press, and almost all synagogues were closed down, leaving but a remnant of the once flourishing, truly creative cultural life of the Jewish population. Under these circumstances the overwhelming majority of the Jews living in the Soviet Union -including the residents of the former Baltic s.. Read More »
 

Quantity: 

Judaism
Judaism

$US15.30
$US30.60

Chief Rabbi Dr. Immanuel Jakobovits - read all reviews by this author

Date Added: Sunday 30 May, 2010

5 of 5 Stars!

By a happy combination of circumstances I am privileged to be among the very few who can serve a living link between the author and the reader for whom this translation of his work is intended.From the time I enrolled as a student of Jews' College in 1937 until the untimely passing of Rabbi Dr. Isidore Epstein in 1962, he was my distinguished teacher and mentor, a relationship which soon flowered into a fond friendship and which survives to mis day by my reverence for his memory and his teachings. Again, Soviet Jews have been particularly close to my heart ever since I pledged at my installation into my present office in 1967 that my top priorities would include "alleviating the religious attrition and communal isolation of our Russian brethren - the most painful Jewish problem of our day". In pursuit of this pledge, I set up a Department for Soviet Jewry within my office to help in shaping policies and generating communal support for their cause; I greeted them in Austria on their way to Israel when the Jewish exodus from Russia was at its height; I paid the first official visit of any Western Chief Rabbi to the Soviet Union in December 1975, meeting with groups and individuals of all sections identifying as Jews, including many leading activists, some of whom have happily meanwhile reached Israel; and I continue to assist a variety of projects in Israel for the spiritual regeneration of Jews from and in the Soviet Union, including the sponsorship of this transla.. Read More »
 
Rabbi A.Y.Kook. His Personality and Teaching
Rabbi A.Y.Kook. His Personality and Teaching

$US26.40
$US52.80

Natan Sharansky - read all reviews by this author

Date Added: Monday 02 July, 2007

5 of 5 Stars!

"Pinchas Polonsky's book on the phylosophy of Rav Kook gave me an entirely new insight into Judaism. I have always felt that Judaism should present an approach that refects an agreement berween tradition and our natural ethical feelings - and I was glad to find such an approach. This book is of vital importance to Russian-speaking Jewry's sezrch for spirituality" Natan Sharansky Read More »
 
  • Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews)
  •  

Subscribe now to our news and discounts newsletter:  

 
| Share |

 
We listen to you!

We listen to you!


Please do not forget to mention your email, if you want to get reply from us.
Your suggestions to make the e-store better